Eddy Current Testing (ET)
Course Details:
Certification/Awarding bodies: CSWIP, PCN
Starting: 19 December 2018
Ending: 28 December 2018
Location: India
Venue: Chennai
On Request

Suitable for:

NDT personnel, inspectors and technicians responsible for, or engaged in, practical application of eddy current testing and writing techniques and instructions for detection of flaws in cast and wrought product, material identification/determination of properties, coating thickness measurement, tube testing and weld inspections.

Also suitable to personnel engaged in inspection of aerospace materials, components and structure.

Course Content:

Eddy current testing of ferritic welds, structures (aerospace), and tubing such as that found in condensers, heat exchangers and air conditioning units. This course covers the techniques of surface inspection and/or internal bore inspection and is supported by examinations complying with BS EN ISO 9712.

Certification/Awarding Body:

Course Objectives:
  • To detect cracks, surface and near-surface, in aircraft components, structures, tubes and welds
  • To detect corrosion and thinning in non-magnetic materials
  • To grade and sort materials on the basis of conductivity and permeability
  • To write clear and concise inspection instructions and test reports
  • To meet the syllabus requirements of CSWIP/PCN Level 2

Additional Information:

Please note:
All candidates attending a PCN examination (initial, retest or renewal) must provide photo ID (e.g Driving licence number, Passport number, PCN ID Card) on the day of sitting the examination. Failure to do so will result in the candidate being turned away.

No mandatory course entry requirements.

Training requirements:
The minimum required duration of training, which includes both theoretical and practical elements, is:
  • Level 1 - 40 hours
  • Level 2 - 40 hours (Direct Level 2 - 80 hours)

The training hours requirement is fulfilled when candidates attend one of TWI's training courses.

Certification requirements:
The minimum duration for experience prior to or following success in the qualification examination is:
  • Level 1 - 3 months
  • Level 2 - 9 months (Direct Level 2 - 12 months)

Certification will not be issued until successful completion of the examination and the required experience is achieved.